Organisation structure

De Bachelor and Master study programmes, the Preliminary and Associate degree courses and the Research department of the Academy of Theatre and Dance are congregated as follows:

  • Theatre
    Mime School, Drama and Contemporary Music Theatre, Production and Stage Management, Theatre Directing, Scenography, Design & Technology, Technological Production (AD), Theatre in Education
  • Dance
  • National Ballet Academy, 5 o'clock class, SNDO / Choreography (School for New Dance Development), Dance in Education, Urban Contemporary (JMD), Modern Theatre Dance. The last two mentioned educations will merge in 2019 into a new dance study programme
  • DAS Graduate School
    DAS Choreography, DAS Theatre, DAS Creative Producing (under development), DAS Research

Students at work

Academy of Theatre and Dance

Jan Zoet (1958), Director Academy of Theatre and Dance, was the director of the theatre of Rotterdam. He also was the founder of the interdisciplinary Productiehuis Rotterdam and the theatre festival the International Choice by the theatre of Rotterdam, which won the Prize of Theatre Criticism in 2005. In the eighties and nineties Zoet worked as a producer, playwright and professional and artistic leader for various companies and festivals, including Theatregroup Hollandia and Mickery. He was active in numerous boards, and committees in the cultural sector, including the VPRO, Toneelgroep Amsterdam, the Prins Bernhard Cultural Fund and the Fund of Performing Arts. Jan Zoet is chairman of Kunsten '92.

‘I want that, too!’
‘I can still vividly remember the moment I decided I wanted to make theatre. I was 17 and in high school, and I saw Het Vermoeden by Hauser Orkater. Wow, I thought—something was happening that I’d never experienced before. All of a sudden – at a tangible distance, right there in front of me – I recognised myself. I saw my life captured onstage, I experienced something that I’d never been able to put into words. A sense of identification. A motivation to be who you really are. Happiness. I knew I wanted it, too. From that moment on, the driving force in my life has been the urge to cherish art and to work to create it.’


Jan Zoet
Jan Zoet
  • Director Academy of Theatre and Dance: Jan Zoet
  • Professor DAS Research: Marijke Hoogenboom, 020- 527 7804
  • Faculty secretary and coordinator quality assurance: Fien Bloemen, 020-527 7686
  • Policy coordinator Dance: Liesbeth Koot, 020-527 7691
  • Facility manager: Niki Lemmens, 020- 527 7814
  • Head supporting departments: Daniëlle van Sundert , 020-527 7819
  • Head student affairs and information and communication technology in education : Erik Lint, 020- 527 7809
  • Head producing departments and project leader: Bart Kusters, 020-527 7816
  • Financial Controller: Paul Jeroen Willems, 020-527 7660
  • Human Resources: Trudy Ammerlaan 020-527 7743

The educational staff is mentioned at specific pages on this site:

The exam committee (EC) fulfills a supervisory role within the Academy of Theatre and Dance. The EC is independent and monitors the quality of exams and evaluations in relation to the formulated competencies and final qualifications of the study programme. In doing so, the EC plays an important role in the granting of diplomas. Indeed, students, teachers and the work field should have confidence that diplomas are awarded with due diligence.

The EC does not set exams itself, it appoints examiners, draws up guidelines for  taking tests and evaluations (including certification), counters fraud, verifies the quality of tests and evaluations and decides on complaints, dispensations and personal learning tracks. Decisions of the EC are based on  the Onderwijs- en examenregeling (OER) (Education and exam regulation) and the Studiegids (Study Guide) which contains the competencies and final qualifications of the study programme. In addition, the EC gives solicited and unsolicited advice on subjects relating to the quality of tests and evaluations.
Read more 

Members of the exam committee are: Fien Bloemen (chairwoman), Liesbeth Koot (secretary), Anke Nust, John Taylor, Steven Schenk, Erik Viskil (external member) You can contact the EC by sending a mail to secretary Liesbeth Koot:

The members of the Advisory Committee of the Academy of Theatre and Dance are:


  • Sruti Bala - Assistant Professor in Theatre and Performance Studies at the University of Amsterdam (UVA)
  • Simon van den Berg - editor Theatermaker
  • Janine Dijkmeijer - advisor, consultant and interim manager for the arts
  • Anita van Dolen - programmer Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
  • Farnoosh Farnia - programmer Oerol festival, storyteller, co-founder and teacher Mezrab Storytelling School
  • Rachel Feuchtwang - managing director & producer Schweigman&
  • Ivo van Hove - director Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
  • Sijtze van der Meer - actor
  • Theun Mosk - set & lighting designer
  • Peggy Olislaegers - artistic associate bij Rambert Dance Company
  • Marie-Anne Rudolphi - director Via Rudolph
  • Mark Timmer - artistic director Theater Frascati