Block Autumn 2008 - Who Is I?

15 September 2008 to 21 November 2008
The semester 2008 started on 1 September 2008 and ended on
28 February 2009

Participating students
Elina Cerpa (LV); Gertjan van Gennip (NL); Petter Alexander Goldstine (N/USA); Steven de Jong (NL); Miguel Angel Melgares (E); Snejanka Mihaylova (BG); Nir Nadler (IL); Christian Thompson (AUS); Nadia Tsulukidze (GE)

Exerpts from a letter, written by the mentor Titus Muizelaar (NL) to the participants, stating the intentions of the Block: 

Being condemned is freedom. I love you. That’s hard to say. But my heart can tell you. So, who am I? When walking, doing the dishes, searching the market for ingredients, jumping off the cliff in Cinque Terre in Italy, I am with you and my heart flows. And I don’t know you. I condemn you to me, because I am condemned to you. In Block 29, anyhow. Why condemned, you may think. Why that word.... Because that’s not what you want to hear right now. Surrounding is. You behold something gentle. The word has action. Both words were created but also polluted. So, again: Condemned. I grant you the transformation of this word, as I want to condemn you and make you experience how liberty thus will surround you. For the rest is illusion. And that is fundamentally different from a dream. The dream is the condemnation you don’t want to stay in.

You don’t want obstructions on your road. But you are your own obstruction. Who is I? Who are I? And what is a closet falling open? Your starting-point is DasArts, by your own choice. But when DasArts was there, you transformed it into possibility. I would like to ask you to let yourself be surrounded by DasArts. So, to be condemned.

Why are you here? Why did you come? A flyer, a website, a possibility to shape your illusions. I’m not interested in that. The NOW is your capital.

Live. That’s daring to answer the question: Who is I? Who are I? That’s all.
That’s all I ask of you.

Guest teachers
Peter van Bergen (NL); Imko Binnerts (NL); Peter Delahay (NL); Coot van Doesburgh (NL); Sam Gerrits (NL) Tania Goryucheva (RUS/NL); Bas Haring (NL); Lina Issa (LB); Jan van de Lande (NL); Aernout Mik (NL); Adelheid Roosen (NL); Ionica Smeets (NL); Karin Spaink (NL); Wim T. Schippers (NL); Boudewijn Tarenskeen (NL); Wim Vandekeybus (B)