Change Now! 

Power, Oppression and Equity in European Theatre and Education 

Edited by Agata Adamiecka-Sitek and Laura Cull Ó Maoilearca

Change Now! is an open access, online publication featuring essays by international artists, educators and scholars addressing key topics in relation to power, oppression and equity in theatre and performing arts education including:

social safety – consent – intimacy coordination – brave space 

power dynamics in performance practices and pedagogies

queering – anti-racism – decolonization – ableism – precarity

View and download the publication here

The publication is an output of CHANGE NOW!: an Erasmus+ Strategic Partnership project on democratic values, social safety and inclusion in theatre led by The Aleksander Zelwerowicz National Academy of Dramatic Art, Warsaw, in alliance with four other European schools: the Academy of Theatre and Dance, Amsterdam; Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft, Giessen; Conservatoire National Supérieur d’Art Dramatique, Paris; and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Glasgow. 

Running from 2021-2023, CHANGE NOW! was an educational artistic programme that brought together European theatre and performance schools with the aim to jointly create innovative practices for equity, diversity and empowerment in theatre.  

The publication gathers together insights from 30 different contributors: guest artists, actors, theatre-makers, playwrights, directors, scholars, teachers and students involved in the project – exploring shared concerns with power, oppression and equity in theatre and performing arts education across the different national contexts of Poland, the Netherlands, Germany, France and Scotland.


Szymon Adamczak

Agata Adamiecka-Sitek

aster arribas

Marine Bachelot-Nguyen

Julia Bee

Julia Borkowska

Laura Cull Ó Maoilearca

Penda Diouf

Gerko Egert

Carly Everaert

Agnieszka Jakimiak

Hilary Jones

Monika Kwaśniewska

Maria Kozłowska

Katarzyna Lis

Adrianna Malecka

Bojana Mladenović

antje nestel

Katarzyna Renes

Rajni Shah

Magdalena Sildatk

Joy Mariama Smith

Bernadetta Statkiewicz

Elioa Steffen

Weronika Szczawińska

Monika Szufladowicz

Meryem Elise Şengün

Mira Thompson

Helena Urbanska

Katarzyna Waligóra

Co-funded by the Erasmus+ program of the European Union